An edition of: WaterAtlas.orgPresented By: USF Water Institute

Water-Related News

SWFWMD awards grants to Hillsborough County teachers for water resources education projects

The Southwest Florida Water Management District (District) awarded $119,000 in grants to 65 schools within the District as part of the Splash! school grant program. The program provides up to $3,000 per school to enhance student knowledge of freshwater resources in grades K-12.

Splash! grants encourage hands-on student learning through STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) activities as well as engagement of the greater school community through awareness campaigns. Each school district allocates a portion of their annual youth education funding provided by the District to support the Splash! grants in their county.

The District awarded grants to the following schools/teachers in Hillsborough County:

  • Colson Elementary - Jackie MacLean
  • Community Charter School of Excellence - Debra Gwyn
  • Dowdell Middle Magnet School - Candice LaRussa
  • Dr. Carter G. Woodson PK-8 - Candace Johnson Thornton
  • Dr. Carter G. Woodson PK-8 - Maria Carvalho
  • East Bay High School - Michelle Laycock
  • George M. Steinbrenner High School - Timothy B Harris
  • Heritage Elementary School - Susan Hopper
  • Inez Doby Elementary School - Pamela Vasquez
  • Jackson Elementary School - Elizabeth Damsel
  • Lawton Chiles Elementary - Linda Rosen
  • Learning Gate Community School - Adam Wolford
  • Pizzo K-8 School - Alyssa Mormon
  • Pride Elementary School - Lindsay Green
  • Robinson High School - Tiffany Oliver
  • South County Career Center - Ryan Lerch
  • Sulphur Springs K-8 Community School - Michael Wiggs
  • Terrace Community Middle School - Elizabeth Mila
  • Turner Bartels K-8 - Jennifer Cogan

Grants are available for freshwater resources field studies, water-conserving garden projects, community